Looking for another special friend

Ever since I sold Dexter, my heart has had an important piece missing. At first I thought I would get over it, but that’s not the case. It’s like a light went out and with it a whole heap of love went away too.

All the fun we’d experienced on our travels wasn’t there anymore

And sadly many happy memories had been forgotten while I was ill

… like buying him in the first place

We three meet in Talent, Oregon in December 2009

 

Viewing the mountains ahead for our first day of driving from Ashland Oregon to Mt Shasta California

 

Arriving in Mt Shasta – DAY ONE of our drive on 19 Dec 2009

 

One of our first VW shows in California

 

A great photo that took ages to set up – us with Hollywood Sign!!!

 

Near the start of Route 66 at the Bagdad Cafe near Newbury Springs, CA

 

One of my favourite pics of the trip – A route 66 mural on Rte 66 in Tucumcari, New Mexico!!!

A write up on Dexter and our travels across the USA

 

Back in MA using Dexter to help when campaigning for a good cause

then continuing the cause by driving across USA in 2012 this time east to west

Looking rather well worn after several years and many miles …. back in California


Dexter at Canyon RV Park, Southern California, May 2014
– fun even without the drag race where it had all begun!

More than the great photos, were the people. If your heart needs warming, just read the THANK YOU page here ❤ 

. . . . . . .

Sadly I lost sight of the many wonderful experiences as I got really sick and it was in that state that I decided to sell Dexter. At the time I could not cope with organising to have him shipped to the UK, even though I had done all the research years before and knew how to do it. To make matters worse I sold him for a silly low price. I didn’t really need to sell him. I didn’t need the money. What I did need at the time was good mental and physical health and the fact that I didn’t have those meant I lost him, too.

So now I am on the hunt for another VW bus in which to travel and spread some cheer.

Will I find another like Dexter?
Will I find another wonderful VW bus that will add sunshine to my days and light up the faces of others who meet us on the yeswecanjourney?

Add your comments below if you see or hear of any great VW buses – thank you ❤

2 Responses

  1. Hello Carole! While the post has sadness at missing your old Dexter it brought me joy to hear from you and see your first post in a while and to read and see pictures of the wonderful memories.

    I had my old Bessie the truck until she was 27 years old. I sold her for very little, to a young fellow who was going to preserve her. The vehicle was no longer necessary for my day to day life. 7 years later all the good memories make me nostalgic and when I see a truck like her I get quite sad missing her. I finally realized I was missing all the fun aspects but not the full reality. Someday may choose another vintage vehicle when I am able to properly store and care for it.

    I hope that you shall find and enjoy all that you seek soon. I send all my best and look forward to more updates.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, it is heartfelt and much appreciated

Leave a comment