Generosity of heart

There are times when I am driving my VW bus that I get a bit frazzled. It might be that the weather’s too hot and I wish these old vintage buses had a fan, or it might be I am trying to turn round in a tight space and I wish I had power steering, or it could be that the battery is behaving badly and I have to do a push start, yet most of the time I have been very lucky and Dexter, aka “The YesWeCan CamperVan“, behaves very well indeed.

Yet on the odd occasion when I have really needed help, a kind VW soul has always turned up, like a knight in shining armour, yes really. You only have to look at the THANKS page to see that’s true.

brave_heart

My latest encounter with a generous heart, was at the very top of California about a month ago, as I was bringing a “new to me” VW bus down from Oregon. I had been worried that the seat belt was inoperable because it was rusted in and could not be adjusted. Here I was driving hundreds of miles south on Interstate 5, with no seat belt, and as I approached the town on Yreka, the concern resurfaced. It was a significant moment because way back in Dec 2009, Yreka had been my first stop on my first day of taking Dexter home to Massachusetts. So I checked the time and I thought I’d make a brief stop for old time’s sake. Seeing a VW from the highway, I decided to head in that direction in the hope there might be a VW shop and that they might have a spare belt. The young man excitedly told me he had just purchased his first VW, a beetle, but his was just a private garage, and that I should try a VW mechanic further along the same road. When I found David Medeiros, he was working on a Westy. He didn’t have a spare seat belt so he looked at my driver’s seat to see if he could slide it back, which would make the extra room I needed for the belt to fit. Using a hammer and screwdriver he worked for a while but the seat was too was rusted into the runners and impossible to loosen. Try as he might, it would not break free.

David wouldn’t accept any payment for his time. After swapping a few VW stories and looking at the nice bus he was working on, I said cheerio and got on my way.

David’s generosity of spirit made me feel a whole lot better,  and afterwards I found I was much less concerned about having no seatbelt.  I wanted to add his name and address here. If you are ever passing near Yreka, CA, and are in need of an experienced VW mechanic and a good person, give David a call:

David Medeiros,  D & D Auto House,
1488 Fairlane Road, Yreka, CA.
1-530-331-3303

Yreka VW mech David Medeiros

 

Leave a Reply

