Endurance test to get to VW meetup

I knew I should never have left California last year!

Look at these photos to see why countless flights were cancelled in the north east of USA today and why I’ll miss meeting Eric in Vegas tonight and riding in his gorgeous green VW camper tomorrow to ‘Buses by the Bridge XV‘.

My Volvo at 09:00 and hours more snow to come

The size and severity of this storm also explains why I’ll be one whole day late arriving.

Today after digging out the car to get to the airport, Southwest Airlines called to cancel my fourth flight booking in a row (book/cancel/ book/cancel ….) all for the same flight from Providence, Rhode Island, to Las Vegas. Finally I found the last seat on a flight arriving in Vegas at 6.30pm FRIDAY.

Is there a special award for endurance or determination to get to BBB, I’m now wondering?
I can’t win an award by entering the slow drag race because my VW “The YesWeCan CamperVan” is home in the garage, but you can watch our race last Spring at the OEBC drag race over in the column to the right under YouTube videos.

Though I’ll miss the Thursday night party and Friday all day, I do have all day Saturday and Sunday morning to enjoy my first BBB VW meeting, one of the largest in America, with over 300 VWs and around 1000 owners and their families. That’s a big VW family!

As for the Bridge of Buses by Bridge, it is the actual LONDON Bridge from my home city in England. I did pass by it last summer on my way to Massachusetts and I was actually impressed. When I was a child it had seemed a rather comical idea for us to sell a bridge that was falling down to a businessman in America for him to then put it in the middle of the desert in Arizona, but somehow it works!  Maybe the old bridge deserves an award for endurance …. “survived the Brits, now standing proud in America, overlooking not the muddy Thames, but enjoying overseeing beautiful Lake Havasu”.

The London Bridge I remembered as a kid

Lake Havasu and the Colorado River

N.B. these two images of London Bridge and Lake Havasu are taken from http://www.arizona-leisure.com/lake-havasu-city-pictures.html, under the Creative Commons License.

Leave a Reply

