WHO are we?

WHO ARE WE?
(a poem by Carole Brown)

Hi I am …..

I am an investment banker,
I deal … with numbers and data, trends and models,
I am dollars and yen, and pounds and euros,
I make money, that is my aim,
I am hungry to succeed,
I need to win.

Hi I am …..

I am a C class executive,
I lead ….. with corporate visions and missions, markets and shares,
I am success and growth, and position and power,
I make profit, that is my goal,
I protect my shareholders,
I must please them.

Hi I am …..

I am a therapist,
I listen …..  to beliefs and values, feelings and emotions,
I am histories and hurts, and pasts and pain,
I help mend, that is my role,
I am caring to others,
They need to live.

Hi I am …..

I am a parent,
I tend …… to babies and toddlers, teens and young adults,
I am teething and tantrums, and rebellion and independence,
I give love, that is my joy,
I create the safe space,
For my children to grow.

Hi I am …..

I am an artist.
I create …… stories and songs, paintings and pictures,
I am words and music, and colors and shapes,
I give form, that is my gift,
I voice the invisible,
For others to absorb.

Hi I am …..

I am a scientist,
I observe …… evolution and adaptation, survival and decay,
I am cells and chemicals, and processes and systems,
I study life, that is my quest,
I show natural order,
For humans to be humane.

Hi I am …..

I am invisible,
I make …… elements and molecules, life forms and the innate,
I am atoms and electrons, and neutrons and protons,
I am a building block, that is my honor,
I connect with others,
I exist in each and every.

I am in all the above,
I am.

[END]

4 Responses

  1. thank you for this one.
    i wish we would all learn to embrace the multiple sides of others and let go of the need to limit our images of them to make them fix into our own boxes.

  2. loved the poem Carole~!

  3. Great start to my meditation this morning, Carole — thank you!

  4. I LOVE this Carole! Beautiful, thought-provoking, all-encompassing, and very humane. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

